Hyung Jin Nim's Inaugural Address (December 1, 2007)

Induction Ceremony as Senior Pastor of the Headquarter Church
December 1, 2007

Dear members, Good morning. I do not know what I can say to you who have worked hard for the church. In 1999, my elder brother Young Jin Nim passed into the spirit world. His ascension was a great shock for our family. Since then, however, I can feel that our family has grown and matured. It was from then that I began my 21-year-course. That was about the time I shaved my head and began wearing the long robes (he laughs). There was a lot of talk around me.

Curiously though, Father never reprimanded me but always supported and encouraged me..

Actually I was afraid of what True Father would say to my appearance. Honestly speaking I was actually waiting for Father’s judgement, wondering, “When is he going to scold me?”
Yet strangely during the six years I spent with that shaved head, not once did Father scold me for it. I am also quite shocked when I look at the pictures of myself from that time. I was completely bald. I looked exactly like a Buddhist monk. Yet, Father supported me and encouraged me.

Continue your studies, study the world religions. Learn from all religion; once you penetrate their teachings you will become God’s most beloved son.

At that time I had many doubts about myself. I struggled deeply, wondering, “What is the meaning of life?” and “What kind of path should I now follow?”. Curiously, Father never reprimanded me; but he always supported and encouraged me. He told me, “Continue your studies. Study the world religions. Learn from all religions; once you penetrate their teachings you will become someone God deeply loves.” He said these things to encourage me. That was when I became a genuine Unification Church Member.A group of buddhist monks from the Jogye Order once visited Harvard University, when I was a student there. With the professors I met those monks.

I tell Father, “Father, we grew up in your love. Your grandchildren are also being raised in your love.”

Along with these monks there were reporters from the Joongang Ilbo and Gonga Ilbo (Korean newspapers). They knew I was the son of the Rev. Sun Myung Moon and seeing my shaved head they interviewed me. One of them asked me, “Didn’t your father kick you out of the house?” (laughter from audience). I told them candidly, “I honestly thought my father would kick me out. But instead he supported and encouraged me, telling me to continue with my studies. He embraced me in his love. That’s the only father I know.” I am the youngest son in my family and thus grew up in my father’s love. While I have been living in Cheongpyeong with True Parents, I have seen Father express love to Shin Joon and Shin Deuk. I told him, “Father, we grew up in your love. Your grandchildren are also being raised in your love.”

I do not believe in God who judges. I do not serve such a God. The True Parents that I know was one who unconditionally loved me, encouraged me and supported me. That is the only God I serve.(continues crying)

My wife and I are together in this ministry. We have one goal – to convey to our members the love we have received from True Parents. Unlike my brothers I haven’t actually experienced the more fearsome side of Father, nor do I wish to find out (he laughs). The most important part in my life was True Parents’ love. Likewise, I believe True Parent’s love is what is most important to our members. Other people can probablly tell you about True Father’s frightening side. I’m sure that Father does have that side. Whenever I felt selfdoubt, the only experiences that I went through were the ones of receiving boundless love, encouragement and strength ? not judgement ? from True Parents. I believe that all the members in the world need this love from True Parents.

In the Peace messages you can read where Father says: “God will not judge you; you will be your own judge.” I do not believe in a God who only judges. I do not serve such a God. The True Father that I know is someone who has unconditionally loved me, encouraged me and supported me. That is the only God I serve. (continues crying) I believe that all the members of the world need this love from True Parents.
I believe that Korea could have been True Parents’ nation if in the 1960’s the religious foundations of the various religions, especially the Christian foundation that God prepared in Korea, had given their support to True Parents.

The beginning of the age of the complete settlement of CIG and the era of liberation and complete freedom and True Father’s misoo celeberation all occurred this year. In 2007 my elder brother Kook Jin Nim and I were assigned a great mission. True Father instructed us to create within three years a church with a concregation of 20,000. When he first told me this I had doubts as to why this had to be done.

Father explained the reasons to us. As you know there are many prominent church organizations in the vicinity of the Headquarter Church. There is the Chulrigyo Building nearby and right next to our building there is a Catholic Convent. If you walk a bit further you will see a Samil Church building. As you might know, nearly 20,000 Christians come every Sunday to that Samil church.

If we truly wish to move the Christian foundations we have to be one of the same levels as the Christian churches would not be able to ignore us.

Among our churches we have churches where about hundred people gather each week. Some of the larger churches have 200. You cannot compare a concregation with 200 with that of 20,000 people. Honestly speaking, Christians probably wouldn’t come to our churches.

About a month and half ago, Father gave us this great mission to create a church with a concregation of 20,000. If we truly wish to move the Christian foundation we have to be one of the same level. The Christian churches would not be able to ignore us then. All the religions in Korea, the father nation, in other words, Buddhism, Catholicism, Protestantism and the various other religions should speak in high praise of True Parents. They should extol and attend True Parents while they are here in flesh.

A certain promise can be found in the Divine Principle. It says that when the Messiah comes, all the religions would come together under the Messiah who would stand on the foundation prepared by God, and that all religious people will serve and attend the Messiah as the king of peace in heaven and earth.

In the field of ministry , let us convey True Parent’s love to the members . Let us convey True Parent’s love to the world. Let us create a loveable church, a church that is filled and overflowing with True Love.” That is the goal I cherish in my heart.

Although all our members have read this precise promise in the Principle, they still doubt whether the world will truly come to serve and attend True Parents. In reality many members might have already given up on that promise elucidated in the Principles. Yet, Father has asked that those in the Unification Family combine their strength and cause even the Christian foundation to come to support True Parents by 2010.

The Yoido Full Gospel Church draws 100,000 people to their services each week. Samil church brings in about 20,000 at their weekly services. The Church of Love has between 30,000 and 40,000 each week. Father has told us that if we wish to have the Christians from these reputable churches come and serve True Parents, we have to be on the same level as they are.

Although I was assigned to this position our internal goal is the same as before: “In the ministry , let us convey True Parent’s love to the members . Let us convey True Parent’s love to the world. Let us create a loving church, a church that is filled and overflowing with True Love.” That is the goal, and I cherish it in my heart. I have conviction in my heart. My older brother Kook Jin also has that same goal.

I was one year younger than Young Jin hyung, my elder brother. Yet, Young Jin and Kook Jin were quite similar in character. Both of them were good at their studies and excelled in whatever they did. When they were young, my elder brothers Young Jin and Kook Jin grew up in a field of the highest grades and awards; I grew up in a corn field (Laughter). I actually did not excel in my studies. I enjoyed playing in the outdoors and in nature. Yet, I was very close with my elder brother Young Jin. Kook Jin and Young Jin hyung were also very close. Whenever I walked past Kook Jin hyung’s room, Young Jin hyung was always there. I have many good memories of spending time with them, talking and playing games.

When Young Jin hyung passed away (starts crying), it was a great shock to me, but someone who was even more shocked than me was Kook Jin hyung. Kook Jin hyung was not a scary elder brother to us, he has always loved his younger siblings. He was a reliable elder brother. He had a strong sense of ethics and was an absolute model of an elder brother.

I remember right after Young Jin hyung passed away going to True Parents room, there I found True Father and True Mother sitting in their seats but Kook Jin hyung was on the floor weeping aloud. That was the first time for me to see that confident brother of mine so vulnerable. The sight of him then remains in my heart to this day.

If this church can be filled with True Parent’s love instead of fear or power; if it can be a church where we yearn for True Parents as if they were truly our parents, where we run to them, embrace them and kiss them; if we can become that kind of church of love, I’m confident that 20,000 and even 100,000 will come to this church

I would like to reiterate that we all have the same goal. We all want to return eternal glory to True Parents; we want to return glory to our members who – to this day – have worked so hard; my brothers and I wish to show you how much we have grown and matured.

I will put my life on the line and dash toward that goal. We are determined. Our bones will be buried in Korea. I will go through to the end if not for those in this world, then for my brother Young Jin. We will not stop until the day this nation can serve and attend True Parents while they are on the earth, and praise them as the True Parents, and (until) great Christian ministers support True Parents and honor them.

Still, honestly speaking, I believe that no matter how determined we brothers may be, that day will never come unless we are walking with YOU. I am not here today to preach you; rather I am here to ask a request. Please help us. Please guide us. We are still young and have so much to learn. We all need to put our strengths together in order to fulfill True Father’s dream. We must all walk together.

If this church is filled with True Parents’ love instead of fear or power; if it is a church where we yearn for True Parents as if they were truly our parents – run to them, embrace them and kiss them – if it truly becomes that kind of loving church, I’m confident that 20,000 and even 100,000 will come to this church and that we can become a church larger that the Full Gospel Church and return greater glory to heaven.

This is my request to you. Please help us. This church is OUR church. It holds our tradition. Our children should grow within this church.

As the days pass, let us elevate True Parents to heaven and create the greatest church in the history of the world.

We should never give up. We shall not give up on our members. In return, we ask that you not give up on US. We shall do our best. Don’t we all serve and attend the same True Parents? Let us go forward from now together so that True Parents can receive the greatest glory from the world while they are on the earth.

Thank you very much.

Source: ipeacetv

Leave a Reply

