Sermon: Learning to work with your God's given Ability (January 5, 2008)

Video of Sermon
Headquarter Church, Seoul
Jan. 5, 2008

It is important in our life to find our God’s zones, the zone in our life wherein God is working through us to actualize what He is doing. And let’s remember, that in our own life, when we really examine ourselves, that we have a world class person within us. There’s something in our life that we are world class at. It maybe some field, it maybe even a subfield within a field or particularly in a discipline. But to find that zone where God can work through us, becomes so important.

Yeon Ah Nim’s Message:

When I was young, I really thought that True Father was God. When my father was a minister, I was very used to bowing in front of a big picture of True Parents on the wall. After about 10 years of being very close to True Parents, I once again thought, that True Father is not really a human. I thought that as a human being no one can pour that much love into people. When I think of True Father, he truly doesn’t have time for himself. He always shares his time with the public. After 2008 God’s Day Ceremony True Father was eating lunch with the True Children, and as we were eating True Father briefly talked about his ministry life.

He said, if he did not make his congregation happy, he felt down and he literally said that he went around crying with guilt until the next sermon came. When I heard that, I felt, “Oh, True Father is really human, yes, that is right, he’s a human, who really tries to actualize God’s word.”

And strangely enough because of that I could appreciate True Father more deeply. Brothers and Sisters, they are our True

Parents and they love us and they love you and they believe in you…AJU

Interesting Story of Hyung Jin Nim before giving the Sermon:

I heard a story about a man who was walking in the forest and he decided to have a conversation with God. He said, “God, what is a million years to You? And God said, “Well, a million years is like one second.” Aah, that was interesting. “Well, God, then what is a million dollars to you?” God said, “Well, a million dollars is like a penny to me.” And so the man said to God. “So, God could you give me a million dollars?” And God said, “You just have to wait a second.” (Laugh).

It’s important to our own life not to do everything for our kids. Sometimes, when as parents we’re frustrated and tired and the children can’t get their homework done – even this morning my boy was saying “I can’t do this math….” but it’s important to let the kids work (their way) through the homework. We can stand there, we can support, we can give them help at the right time, but to do their work for them doesn’t help them in the long run. It’s so important that they learn to build confidence and also to start enjoying to have the freedom to start excelling on their own two feet, on their own talents.

Sermon by Hyung Jin Nim

I’d like to talk to you about today’s topic “Learning to Work with Your God Given Ability.” For us to really live a blessed life that the True Parents blessed us to live, it is important to learn to work with the abilities that we were given. And sometimes we need to understand what we can and, sometimes, what we cannot do.

I heard a very interesting quote by an interesting author that says “The fastest way to failure is to try to do

everything and please everyone.” You may resonate with that. It is important in our life to find our God’s zones, the zone in our life wherein God is working through us to actualize what He is doing. And let’s remember, that in our own life, when we really examine ourselves, that we have a world class person within us. There’s something in our life that we are world class at. It maybe some field, it maybe even a subfield within a field or particularly in a discipline. But to find that zone where God can work through us, becomes so important.

We may, for example be adept in (good at) biology, but more specifically microbiology as opposed to marine, or business, marketing as opposed to accounting. It is important to start to identify where it is that we have our strength zones. Let’s remember, it is hard to become successful and please everyone and make everybody love you and agree with you and wish for your success. Unfortunately, the reality is that when we do become more blessed, when we do become more successful there are people who don’t wish for us to continue to succeed.

And so it’s important for us to keep the right focus in our lives, to learn to remember what our work and our responsibility is. If we are a leader, it’s important not to do everybody’s job, but to learn to let people thrive and succeed where they are, allow them to grow and be accomplished with their roles, their respective roles, and contribute to the organization. If we’re not a leader, then it’s important for us to be the best at what we do and in our position, as well as helping others to do well in their position. If we do that, we will show real leadership potential and show them that we were not only here to compete but we’re here to complete, to help others to complete their God given destiny.

There’s a story of David, the son of Jessie, in Bethlehem. He was the youngest son, he was always tending the sheep. And one day while the Israelites were fighting the Philistines, of course, as you know, there was a giant, a champion within the Philistine camp, his name was Goliath. He was two to three times taller than David. David was very skinny, he tended the sheep, and he practiced his sling shot. But when the Israelites were in this battle with the Philistines, David felt something resonate internally in him. He knew that it was time to step up to this task. Everything in him was calling out saying “David, you have to step out now, it is your time now, it’s time to go forth.”

And David went forth, but unfortunately in this situation his father didn’t believe in him. Even his elder brothers didn’t believe in him, saying, “David what are you doing? Stay and tend the sheep, those sheep need you more, there’s no way you can face Goliath. He is two to three times your height. He’s the champion in all the arts, in all the warrior arts. There’s no way you can defeat him.”
But David had something within him. He had the anointing of God. He picked up a river stone and with that sling shot, with that he practiced so often, so diligently, he tossed that stone. The scriptures say that it sunk into Goliath’s forehead and he collapsed and fell over. It is that very small inner voice that compelled David to move forward. And he didn’t slay the giant based on his own strength but because God had placed that ability (in him), so that that river stone directly struck that target.

It is important in our own life that in this 2008 to recognize that maybe there’s obstacles we have to face, maybe there’s a fear that we have to overcome but, just like David, on the internal side of us, it’s important for us to start getting up and start realizing, “Yes, now it’s my time, it is now the year of Jubilee, it is the time of celebration and blessing.”

If we are parents, it’s very important to do unlike David’s parents did. It’s important to remember to support our kids, to know that we cannot do everything for them,but to let the kids empower themselves and let them learn to do things more and more on their own. In other words, to teach them how to make steps towards independence, to step towards maturity, to step towards increasing in their own life.

In the Greek tradition whenever young people were being trained there were 3 different modalities (ways) through which the instructor would instruct. And the 1st would be to teach intellectually, to explain it. And the 2nd would be, to show how it is accomplished. The 3rd would be, to help the student to teach somebody else so that it will really become imbibed, so that child would truly understand what is it they are trying to learn.

So how is it that I find my natural, my God’s zone? How can I discover such a place? What’s important is to ask ourselves such questions as “What comes naturally to me? What can I do in which I feel that this is exactly what God has designed me to do? What is it that I can excel at? What is it that I’m good at?” What is it where we even loose track of ourselves and even loose track of time (forget the time) while we’re accomplishing the task? It’s important to identify

what it is we’re good at.

It’s important to our own life not to do everything for our kids. Sometimes, when as parents we’re frustrated and tired and the children can’t get their homework done – even this morning my boy was saying “I can’t do this math….” but it’s important to let the kids work (their way) through the homework. We can stand there, we can support, we can give them help at the right time, but to do their work for them doesn’t help them in the long run. It’s so important that they learn to build confidence and also to start enjoying to have the freedom to start excelling on their own two feet, on their own talents.

Maybe our children want us to buy something for them and maybe instead of just giving it, it is important for them to learn how to earn it. It is maybe something we do in our family, when my boys come and say “Oh, I like this, then Appa can I get that?” “Of course you can get it but let’s make a goal first.” So what we do is to set a goal or maybe, “On three quizzes, let’s get over a 90% and then you will get it.”

So in the other words, allow the kids to really feel that they earn it, to feel that they are really owning this, that they are learning to strengthen their independence. Then one day they can really truly find their God’s zone. It’s important that when we’re raising them and when we’re pushing them and helping them through the time in which they have to grow, it is important to do such things because research has shown that kids who are given the power to do things on their own to learn to be independent, they have more initiative, they have more confidence in their decision making and they have more self esteem. So it’s important that in 2008 – as the song said “We are children of God,” – we let our children also realize that they are children of God, to let them excel and give them the right tools that they will need to succeed in their life.

So how is it that I find my natural, my God’s zone? How can I discover such a place? What’s important is to ask ourselves such questions as “What comes naturally to me? What can I do in which I feel that this is exactly what God has designed me to do? What is it that I can excel at? What is it that I’m good at?” What is it where we even loose track of ourselves and even loose track of time (forget the time) while we’re accomplishing the task? It’s important to identify what it is we’re good at.

I’ve learned that in a scale of 1 to 10 we’re only able to move the gage about 2 to 3 spots. For example, starting at 4 at a certain field, we might really want to do things or just because our friends are doing it or our brothers are doing it, so we wanna do that as well. Or we may start with our natural ability at 4. So we maybe able to do it if we give a lot of effort to bring it up to 7.

But if we take the pressure of ourselves and start looking at our lives, then we can see what we are good at, we see what comes naturally in our life. We maybe able to start at 7 or 8 and naturally through effort and practice and repetition we’ll be able to increase that till 10. Then we’ll become world class in that thing, in that particular zone.

It’s important to understand that not everyone can be a leader of an organization, not everyone can be a president of a country. And it’s important to ask ourselves, “Why am I doing this thing? Why am I choosing this career? Am I trying to do this because my friends are to do it? Or because my parents are pushing me to become a doctor while I really feel my calling or my God’s calling is to be a school teacher”? Are we doing it because maybe it looks glamorous or maybe it’s very attractive?

It’s very important to look into our mind, the silent inner witness that observes our life, to see our internal state and to ask ourselves, “Can I do such a career? If I choose this task can I do this with real sincerity? Can I continue this not only 2 years but 30 years? Can I do it in 40 years? Can I have a more long term commitment towards this particular task?”

I really see this embodied in True Father’s life. He was given anointing at 16 years of age. That was so many, many years ago. He continues even at the age pressing towards 89 to continue on his mission, on his promise. When he made the promise at 16, he didn’t say “I’m gonna do this for 2 months” or maybe “I’ll do it for 2 years and I’ll see how it turns up.” No. He said, “I’m going to do this continously, I’m gonna do this for the rest of my life. ”

When we ask such a question (what our God’s zone is), we may not get a verbal answer from God, but we may start to feel that it is the right choice. Now we may say, “If I do the same work for the rest of my life, what if I get bored, what if I’m loosing my potential?” Let’s remember that any career or work we do has constant change. We cannot anticipate all the details that will turn out in the future.

But it’s important to take the pressure from ourself and say ” That’s okay, I’m gonna leave that up to God, I’m not gonna figure out everything at this instant (right now).” We may be asked to do something else in the future. But right now (we should ask), “Am I making the right decision? Am I making the right commitment, the right promise?” It’s so important that in our life we’re able to reflect and ask ourselves, ask our inner voice within ourself, such important questions.

I was speaking to a CEO of a construction company and he was telling me how he teaches all the people that do construction under him. He was saying, “When I instruct them I tell them, ‘don’t have a temporary mindset’.” In the construction they do a work for 1 day and a project that will last for 2 months, etc. They make it last for 6 months, but he gave that kind of guidance. For me that really was important.

Especially when we moved to Headquarters from our Mapo Church. it was important for us at the very end to continue to say: ” We still have 1 or 2 services left, and then it’s over. And we gonna prepare for a bigger church, we have to prepare for the Old Headquarter now.” We could have said that. But we have constantly trained our minds to say,” No, we are here and in the next 2 weeks we have to act as if it would be our permanent place. As if we are giving everything.” And I felt, because we were able to do that, we were able to end at Mapo with such a good spirit.

Personally, when I started ministry, I really had to sit and reflect for many days. I had said, “Is this really right for me? Is this the things that I have to do? Can I do this for 20 years, 30 years? Can I do this for the rest of my life? Can I improve on this dimension continuously?”

And I had to ask myself and honestly (speaking), I didn’t get a verbal answer from God – that boom from the heaven – that told me “Yes, this is correct.” But everything in me sensed, “Yeah, I think this is right, this is right for me.” I looked back on my life and saw how it is moving along and see: I studied religion and have friends within different traditions, Buddhist tradition, Catholic tradition, that are also ministers, pastors, monks.

And it felt natural to me, to reflect a lot on spiritualityy, on such things as religion, etc. And I really came to the sort of affirmation (realization) that one does not choose ministry, but that ministry chooses the person. And I feel that’s the same way in our career, the same way in our lives, that we don’t necessarily choose our work but naturally that work chooses us, that it somehow attracts us into it, that God is leading us and helping us to be His hands in the world.

When I was on the plane I saw a documentary on extra sensory perception and the abilities that humans have that we’re not aware of. There was Princeton University who was doing research. Also Stanford University continues to research. Also other universities, major universities, in the States are continuing research on such things. And I saw one very interesting experiment that they did which really got me thinking.

The experiment was that they have a computer screen, and on that computer screen they flash images, they flash two different types of images. One image was very peaceful, it was very calming or maybe beach or beautiful sunset, this kind of thing. But the other images, the other types of images were very disturbing, maybe images of the Holocaust, or images that really elicit (cause) very emotional response.

What they were finding was very remarkable and I will explain it very briefly. Whenever the participants saw a negative image, a very scary image, of course, as you can imagine, the heartbeat would rise, their brain wave would change, their skin temperature would change, all these things would happen. But what’s very fascinating is that all this change did not happen after they saw the negative image, it happened before they saw the image and what’s very striking about this is that these are random statistical images, which means that the participants have no way of telling whether it would be a negative or positive image.

Personally, when I started ministry, I really had to sit and reflect for many days. I had said, “Is this really right for me? Is this the things that I have to do? Can I do this for 20 years, 30 years? Can I do this for the rest of my life? Can I improve on this dimension continuously?”

But somehow within the people, the thousands and thousands of participants that participated in this experiment, somehow every single person was able to sense prior (before) the negative image, that a negative image was coming. They didn’t know in their mind that their body temperature was rising, their heartbeat was rising. It was almost as if they could read the future. And what the researchers who are doing these things are saying is that this is statistically significant, that they are able to show that people have the ability to feel into the future. It sounds very hi-tech and very mystical but what research has shown in this particular field was that we have much more than meets the eye when it comes to what we have (we have more than what we can see with our eyes).

When I saw this, I came to think about the Principle model. In the Principle it says there are 4 dimensions that humans have. We have the heartistic element, the emotion element, intellectual element and we have a will, beause we are made in the image of God. And many times we may think that our reason, our intellect, guides our will and actions.

What such research is showing, however, is that human beings have the ability to feel, to know that something is coming, even before the intellect has processed that information. What it actually shows is a Principle model, which is more close, more correct. In the ideal world our emotion, the ability to feel, the senses, the ability to feel, almost super senses, will be able to educate us more about God and the ideal world.

When I thought about that, I thought that in our life, when we’re making decisions that are critical, when God is preparing these decisions that really change the destiny of our life, then it is very important to learn how to be in tune, to sense with such super senses, to learn to really start going inside and ask “Is this right for me? Is this the right way?” When we do that, we start trying to listen to that very small voice inside, that inner witness, that guides us through our lives.

Let us remember, that our career is not just the salary thing. It is where we can actualize our God given abilities. It is where we can actualize God’s light into this world. If our career matches with God’s plan, then it will turn out okay, we’ll be happy, we’ll be rich, will help others doing it (doing well). But unfortunately, if it doesn’t match up with what God wants us to do, it will eventually come to a close, no matter how much we want to pursue it.

I can speak personally about this. I wanted to really play college football when I was at Fairfield University. I was playing with a team. We were playing football and I hadn’t played football in high school, so there was no way that I could compete with the football players at this college football level. But I was really passionate. Well, I really wanted to play college football. I really wanted to pursue this dream that I had and I remember, I continued to pursue it.

But one day the coach called me and said, “You know what? I don’t want you to pursue it anymore, I don’t want you to come out into our practice.” I was almost devastated and I said, “This is terrible. I gave all my heart. I was training so much. I was eating so much. I was 105 kg or 235 pounds, like weight crazy.”

I tried to really work for the team, but God decided to close that door on me. And I remember, feeling totally defeated, totally devastated. I thought this dream is shattered before my eyes. I will never be able to play college football now. But as I reflected it inside of me, I realized it was one of the greatest blessings of my life, because what I realized was that I didn’t want to play college football because I really wanted to do it. I was trying to impress my brother who played football, who always was a good football player, etc., in middle school or whatever. I realized I actually don’t want to play football. I just wanted to impress my brother and when I really realized that I was so free and I really thanked God for closing this door, because now I’m free, I’m liberated. Now I can move on and find my own path in my life.

And I had to ask myself and honestly (speaking), I didn’t get a verbal answer from God – that boom from the heaven – that told me “Yes, this is correct.” But everything in me sensed, “Yeah, I think this is right, this is right for me.” I looked back on my life and saw how it is moving along and see: I studied religion and have friends within different traditions, Buddhist tradition, Catholic tradition, that are also ministers, pastors, monks.

And remember that in every job, even in one that God has called us to do, we will have our up and down days, but on the total when, we observe that work, when we see it, we can say “It’s good, it’s a good sign. I’m happy I’m doing this work.” It’s important to feel really right with what you’re doing. It’s almost like an antenna. An antenna is a device that is able to gather many various frequencies and collect them into cohesive bits of information. In the same way, when we feel out our future, when we feel what is the right way – more than an intellectual design or plan which changes all the time – then it’s important to learn to get in touch with that gut feeling, the inner witness, the inner compass inside that God is placing within us, to learn to feel, “Yes, this is my God’s zone. This is the place where I can excel at.”

If we can do that, I do believe that we will have more victory, more illumination, more peace. If there’s something we can learn today let us remember that in finding our God’s zone, the place that we’re given the ability, we will be able to actualize God’s work in this world.

And remember, our talents will not always be the same as somebody else’s or as the closest friend’s, and maybe it is something totally different. But it is something that we have to find out. Maybe there’s a path that God has designed for us to walk, for us to excel at, for us to be world class at.

So let’s learn to empower those people around us, the children; let’s learn to give our children the steps towards independence, so that in the future they can become independent from us, so that in the future they can be successful, that they can return what we have given to them.

And in this year 2008, if there’s an obstacle, maybe there’s that fear, maybe there’s that decision that you have to make, maybe there is a new change that you have to go towards in 2008, then let’s step up like David, really let’s turn in and ask ourselves, “Is it the right path?” Try to sense like the antenna, know that this is your time, this is your moment to slay that giant obstacle in front of you.

If we do that and we keep that mindset like Father, not temporary, but if we keep that (for) life, if we keep it fulltime, if we keep that kind of permanent mindset in whatever we do, “I’m gonna give it my all. Even in this two months I’m gonna do it as if it’s 88 years, I’m gonna do that as if it’s a 100 years. I’m gonna give everything,” if you do that, I do believe that we’ll have more VIP, more Victory, more Illumination and more Peace.

Brothers and sisters can you receive this today?

Thank you very much!

Source; ipeacetv

Leave a Reply

