Rev. Hyung Jin Nim's Interesting Story

Last time we met the atheist who was swimming in the ocean. Now I heard another story about that same guy; he had a close call last time. This time he decided “I’m not going to go to the ocean, instead I am going to go hiking in the mountains, that’ll be safer. There won’t be any sharks, and probably no bears because this is Korea. So I’ll go hiking in the mountains.”

So he went out, he climbed up the mountain; he was enjoying the beautiful scenery and the beautiful views, and suddenly he slipped on a rock, and began to fall, tumbling down the mountain. In fact, he tumbled off a cliff. And while he was spinning down, he luckily grabbed hold of a vine (branch) that was hanging from the cliff. He was holding onto that vine and he yelled up, “Is there anybody up there who can help me? God please save me! Is there anybody who can help me?”

From the top of the cliff came a booming voice that said, “Yes, there’s somebody up here.” And the atheist said, “Well, can you help me? Could you lower a rope down and save me, please?” And the person up there said, “Yes, but you’re going to have to do something for me before I do that.”

The atheist said, “Well, who are you? What do I have to do in order for you to help me?” and He said, “Well I am Almighty God, and I need you to let go of the vine, and have faith in me and I will save you.” And at that moment the atheist pondered; he reflected on those words, and he looked up and said. “Is there another God up there?”

Sermon: The Power of Forgiveness / December 15, 2007

Leave a Reply

