Rev. Hyung Jin Nim's Interesting Story


I always like to start with something kind of fun. I don’t know if this is fun, but I’ll try it. I heard of a story of a young man named John. And John wasn’t the best student. He eventually got his job working in a company. And he came to his boss one day and said, “Sir, I’m really sorry. My grandmother just passed and we have the funeral tomorrow, so I need to attend that. So if I could have a leave of absence on Tuesday that would be great.” And the president said, “Oh! Of course, John. Please, take time. Take a day off. Take a couple days off. No problem at all.”

So John was not at the office on Tuesday. And then of course on Wednesday he returned. The boss saw him and said, “John, can I have a tiny word with you?” And said, “John, are you a spiritual man?” and John said, “Not really. I don’t attend church so much.” And the boss said, “Well, do you believe in spirit world?” And John said, “I guess I do”. “Well it’s very interesting, because on Tuesday, when you were at your grandmother’s funeral, she came and dropped these cookies off for you. And by the way, you’re fired.” (Everybody laughing and applauding).

Sermon: Having God’s Strength and Letting Go / November 3, 2007

Leave a Reply

